• Inspired by books Islamic Design

    Inspired by books Islamic Design

    INSPIRED 
    BY BOOKS

Background

Amber Rauf is a contemporary artist with many professional artistic skills, however her main interest is in the graphic designing. She creates beautiful digital paintings based on her research and knowledge on Islamic art from all around the world.

Using the Library and collection to find inspiration

She loves to do research on Islamic architecturand & historical objects from different centuries. Amber visited MIA Library many times to complete her research on Islamic art history. She enjoyed reading books about pottery, carpets and architecture which helped her in completing her research. She was really inspired by several books of her interest which include: Islamic Art N-6260. M6913 - 2010, Islamic Art and Architecture N-6260. I725-2004, Iznik NK-4340-I9-A82714-1990.

Creating designs

Amber recreates Islamic art with a modern twist. Each of her designs tells a story about a specific time from old ages how fascinating it was, keeping the main identity of historical Islamic art she took elements/motifs from Iznik pottery, geometric designs from Islamic architecture combined them together and made beautiful patterns. She loves to show Islamic art in interesting modern versions.

The Finished product

Amber Rauf had an exhibition "Islamic Prints and Patterns" at the Grand Hyatt Doha her artwork were on display for more than a month. Currently 8 of her finest designs are exhibited at MIA library for 3 months.
Find out more about Amber's work.

 

 

Background

Raya Wolfsun (Rabeya Merenkov) is an artist and independent scholar with expertise in the area of Islamic astrolabes. What draws her to them is how art has been made out of these scientific objects. "There is so much going on in them," she explains. "They are layered, like poems that play across star-lore, engineering, geography, spirituality, calligraphy, and visual design."

Using the Library and collection to find inspiration

Raya has spent many hours both visiting the astrolabe galleries in the museum and also sitting in the MIA Library reading many of our books on this topic. She is especially inspired by books that look at the background stories of astrolabes and art in Islamic culture, these include: Beauty in Arabic Culture by Doris Behrens-Abouseif, 1999 (BH221.A65 B3413 1999), Eastern Astrolabes by David Pingree, 2009 (QB85 .A347 2009), Islamic astrolabists and their works by Mayer, L. A. (Leo Ary), 1895-1959. (QB85 .M32 1956) and The Time Museum by A.J. Turner, 1985 (QB85.T58 1984).  

Creating designs

While her ink drawings bear some visual resemblance to the curving arabesque motifs seen on astrolabes and many other objects, she insists that she is also influenced by some of the themes and mentalities behind Islamic art: “There are some ideas about beauty from the medieval Islamic thinkers which I find quite inspiring. On one hand, there is the notion that beauty in the world - whether in nature or something beautifully crafted - is a healing thing that produces a sense of wonder and connection to Something Greater. There is also a sense that the act of creating beautiful things should be a contemplative exercise - and when I do the ink drawings, whether standalone images or the marginalia in my notebooks, the process is indeed meditative.”

The Finished product

This is an example of Rabeya’s work entitled “The Astronomer Under”. You can find out more about Raya’s art, research, and writing on her website: www.rayawolfsun.com

Inspired by Islamic Art

MIA’s Islamic Art Creators & Collectors Club provides a venue for makers, artists, collectors and anyone who is inspired by Islamic art to explore ideas and learn more about Islamic artworks, their creation, display and care.

Any questions, contact Susan Parker-Leavy This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Collectors Club Rules

The MIA Islamic Art Collectors Club provides a venue for private collectors to come together, to explore ideas and learn more about conservation, research, display of objects, collections management, and ethical issues relating to collecting - and for collectors to have a chance to share thoughts and talk about issues related to collecting.

The Club is open to collectors who focus on the visual arts of Islamic civilisations.

The Club gathers at MIA Library on a regular basis to fulfill the purpose as stated above.

The Club is open to all collectors of Islamic art, as a MIA public programme.

The Museum of Islamic Art will not promote objects belonging to private collectors.

The Club is not a venue to promote the sale, acquisition, or lending of individual items or collections.

Private collectors participating at the Club should follow both the ICOM code of ethics and 1995 UNIDROIT Convention rules relating to collecting. These can be found at the following links:

ICOM Code (PDF) on stolen or illegally exported cultural objects:

http://icom.museum/fileadmin/user_upload/pdf/Codes/code_ethics2013_eng.pdf

and the 1995 UNIDROIT Convention on Stolen or Illegally Exported Cultural Objects

http://www.unidroit.org/instruments/cultural-property/1995-Convention  

The Museum of Islamic Art does not provide valuations, appraisals, or condition reports for private collections. Collectors may not bring their individual objects or collections to MIA.

Collectors may request advice from MIA Library or other appropriate staff in researching and caring for the objects in their care, at the museum’s discretion.

MIA does not provide conservation services to the public.

Background

Salam Al Hajiry wanted to create wood carvings and designs based on traditional Islamic designs. He wanted to think about making contemporary items like bowling pins, snooker cues and wooden flower vase decorated with traditional Islamic designs. It was important to Salam that the designs related to the history of Islamic art and showed designs from several different periods.

Using the Library and collection to find inspiration

Salam Al Hajiry visited the MIA Library for several months to research his topic of interest. He used over 13 books in the library to complete his research. Some of these books include:
Ivory : 8th to 17th centuries : treasures from the Museum of Islamic Art, Qatar by Rosser-Owen, Mariam. Call number NK5895 .R67 2004
Metalwork treasures from the Islamic courts by Allan, James W. Call number NK6473 .A45 2002
كنوز الإسلام : روائع الفن في العالم الإسلامي / تأليف برنار أوكان ؛ ترجمة نورما نابلسي.‫‫أوكان، برنار.‬ NK720 .K86 2009
Jewelled treasures : from the Mughal courts by Qatar Museums Authority. Call number NK7376.Q2 2002

Creating designs

Salam came to the museum and library to do research into Islamic Art Design. He made photocopies of the images in the books on Islamic Art. He then created the design as a sketch and then as a computerised template using AutoCAD. He then selected the type of wood to be used which in this case was teak.

The Finished product

He then began carving the final object from his design - it took over a year and a half to complete the wooden flower vase. It is over one metre in size. At the moment the vase has only been display in his home but he has taught several workshops in wood carving and had lots of good press coverage including an spot on Qatar TV and in several newspapers. He is now working on more designs for objects such as: bowling pins, pool sticks and trophies.

• Inspired by books Homepage AR

    Inspired by books Homepage AR

    استلهاماً 
    من الكتب

نبذة

أمبر روف فنانة معاصرة تمتلك مهارات فنية احترافية عديدة، لكن اهتمامها الرئيسي هو تصميم الغرافيك. تصمم أمبر لوحات رقمية جميلة قائمة على البحث ودراسة الفن الإسلامي حول العالم.

استخدام المكتبة والمقتنيات بحثاً عن الإلهام

تحب الفنانة إجراء الأبحاث على العمارة الإسلامية والقطع التاريخية التي تعود إلى قرون مختلفة. زارت أمبر مكتبة متحف الفن الإسلامي عدة مرات لاستكمال بحثها عن تاريخ الفن الإسلامي. واستمتعت بقراءة كتب عن الخزف والسجاد والعمارة ساعدتها في استكمال بحثها. وقد استمدت إلهامها من عدد من الكتب مثل: الفن الإسلامي N-6260. M6913 – 2010 الفن الإسلامي والعمارة إزنيق NK-4340-I9-A82714-1990

ابتكار التصميم

أعادت أمبر إنتاج الفن الإسلامي لكن مع لمسة عصرية. تروي تصاميمها حكايات رائعة حول فترات معينة من العصور القديمة. وقد أخذت عناصر/ رسوم من الخزف الإزنيقي وتصاميم هندسية من العمارة الإسلامية ومزجتهما معاً لصنع أنماط جميلة مع المحافظة على الهوية الواضحة للفن الإسلامي التاريخي. هي تحب إبراز الفن الإسلامي لكن بلمسة حديثة.

النتيجة النهائية

أقامت أمبر معرضاً بعنوان "الطبعات والأنماط الإسلامية" في فندق غراند حياة الدوحة. استمر المعرض أكثر من شهر. حالياً تعرض مكتبة متحف الفن الإسلامي 8 من أجمل أعمالها لمدة 3 أشهر.
لمعرفة المزيد عن أعمالها تفضلوا بزيارة:.

 

 

الخلفية

راية وولفسن (ربيعة ميرنكوف) فنانة وباحثة مستقلة تحمل خبرة واسعة في مجال الأسطرلابات الإسلامية. أكثر ما يجذبها إلى هذه الأدوات هو تغلغل الفن في صناعتها رغم وظيفتها العلمية. تقول ربيعة "تحفل الأسطرلابات بالكثير من التفاصيل، وهي أشبه بقصيدة تحكي عن النجوم والهندسة والجغرافيا والروحانيات والخط والتصاميم البصرية."

استخدام المكتبة والمقتنيات كمصدر للإلهام

أمضت راية ساعات طويلة في تأمل الأسطرلابات في قاعات المعرض، كما أمضت ساعات في مكتبة المتحف تقرأ العديد من الكتب التي تتناول هذا الموضوع. أكثر ما ألهمها هو تلك الكتب التي تتكلم عن القصص المرافقة لصناعة الأسطرلابات وفنون الثقافة الإسلامية وهذه الكتب تشمل: الجمال في الثقافة العربية لدوريس بهرنز أبو سيف، 1999 الأسطرلابات الشرقية لديفيد بينغري، (BH221.A65 B3413 1999) 2009 (QB85 .A347 2009) 1959 - 1895 علماء الأسطرلاب المسلمون وأعمالهم بقلم ماير، إل. آ. (ليو آري)،. (QB85 .M32 1956) 1985 ومتحف الزمن بقلم آ. ج. تيرنر، (QB85.T58 1984)

وضع التصاميم

رغم أن رسومها بالحبر تشبه نوعاً ما نقوش الأرابيسك الموجودة على الأسطرلابات وغيرها من القطع إلا أن راية تصر على أنها تأثرت أيضاً بعدد من المواضيع والأفكار الموجودة في الفن الإسلامي: "هناك بعض الأفكار حول الجمال مأخوذة من مفكري القرون الوسطى المسلمين والتي أجدها ملهمة للغاية. من جهة هناك فكرة أن الجمال سواء أكان طبيعياً أم مصنوعاً هو وسيلة للشفاء كونه يقدم شيئاً رائعاً ونوعاً من الارتباط بما هو أعظم، ناهيك عن الشعور بأن صنع الأشياء الجميلة يجب أن يكون عملاً صوفياً تأملياً- وأنا حين أرسم بالحبر سواء في صوري الفردية أو على هوامش دفاتري فإن العملية تكون تأملية تماماً."

النتيجة النهائية

هذا نموذج عن أعمال ربيعة يحمل عنوان "الفلكي على الأرض". لمعرفة المزيد عن فن راية وأبحاثها وكتاباتها تفضلوا بزيارة موقعها www.rayawolfsun.com

 

المستلهم من الفن الإسلامي

يقدم منتدى مقتني الفن الإسلامي في المتحف، منبراً لأصحاب المجموعات الفنية وعشاق الفن الإسلامي لتبادل الأفكار ومناقشة الأبحاث وإدارة المجموعات، والاطلاع على المزيد من روائع الفن الإسلامي وطرق عرضها والعناية بها،  والتعرّف على المعايير الأخلاقية المتعلقة بها. وهو يتيح الفرصة للمقتنين لمشاركة الأفكار والتحدث عن كل ما له علاقة بعالم الاقتناء.

نتوق لاستقبالكم في هذه الفعالية. للاستفسار الرجاء التواصل مع السيدة / سوزن باركر ليفي عنوان البريد الإلكتروني هذا محمي من روبوتات السبام. يجب عليك تفعيل الجافاسكربت لرؤيته.

مبادئ النادي

يقدم نادي مقتني متحف الفن الإسلامي منبراً لأصحاب المجموعات الخاصة يجتمعون من خلاله ويناقشون أمور ترميم وبحث وعرض القطع وإدارة المقتنيات والسلوكيات التي تحكم عملية الاقتناء، كما يفسح المجال أمام المقتنين لتبادل الآراء والتحدث عن شؤون الاقتناء وشجونه.

يستقبل النادي المقتنين الذين يركزون على الفنون البصرية للحضارات الإسلامية.

يجتمع أعضاء النادي بشكل دوري في مكتبة متحف الفن الإسلامي لتحقيق أهداف النادي التي ذُكرت آنفاً.

يستقبل النادي كافة مقتني الفنون الإسلامية كجزء من برنامج فعاليات المتحف العامة.

يعتذر متحف الفن الإسلامي عن ترويج قطع المجموعات الخاصة.

النادي ليس المكان المناسب للترويج لبيع أو حيازة أو إقراض القطع أو المجموعات الفردية.

يجب على أصحاب المجموعات الخاصة المشاركين في النادي الالتزام بأخلاقيات ومبادئ أيكوم المتعلقة بأمور الاقتناء، كما يجب عليهم قراءة اتفاقية أيكوم المتعلقة بالقطع المسروقة أو المصدّرة بشكل غير قانوني والالتزام بها.
http://icom.museum/fileadmin/user_upload/pdf/Codes/code_ethics2013_eng.pdf

لا يقوم متحف الفن الإسلامي بتقييم أو تقديم تقارير عن حالة المجموعات الخاصة .لا يُسمح لأصحاب المجموعات الخاصة بإحضار قطعهم الفردية أو مجموعاتهم إلى متحف الفن الإسلامي.

يمكن للمقتنين أن يطلبوا مساعدة مكتبة المتحف أو أحد الموظفين لإجراء عمليات البحث والعناية بالقطع التي يملكونها في حال قدرة المتحف على تقديم هذا النوع من الخدمات.

الخلفية

أراد سلام الهاجري أن يبدع نقوشاً وتصاميم خشبية مستوحاة من التصاميم الإسلامية التقليدية. كما أراد أن يصنع قطع معاصرة مثل عصي البولينغ والسنوكر ومزهرية خشبية مزخرفة بالتصاميم الإسلامية التقليدية. أكثر ما يهم سلام هو أن ترتبط تصاميمه بتاريخ الفن الإسلامي وأن تلقي الضوء على فترات تاريخية متنوعة.

استخدام المكتبة والمقتنيات كمصدر للإلهام

تردد سلام الهاجري على مكتبة متحف الفن الإسلامي لفترة استمرت شهوراً عديدة لإجراء الأبحاث على موضوعه، واستخدم أكثر من 13 كتاب لاستكمال بحثه، من هذه الكتب:
العاج: من القرن الثامن إلى القرن السابع عشر: كنوز من متحف الفن الإسلامي، قطر بقلم روسر أوين، مريم. رقم الكتاب: NK5895 .R67 2004
كنوزالإسلام : روائع الفن في العالم الإسلامي / تأليف برنار أوكان؛ ترجمة نورما نابلسي. أوكان، برنار.‬ NK720 .K86 2009
كنوز المشغولات المعدنية من البلاط الإسلامي بقلم آلان، جيمس دبليو. رقم الكتاب: NK6473 .A45 2002
كنوز المجوهرات: من البلاط المغولي، من إصدارات هيئة متاحف قطر. رقم الكتاب: NK7376.Q2 2002

وضع التصاميم

أتى سلام إلى المتحف والمكتبة لإجراء بحث حول التصميم في الفن الإسلامي. وقد حصل على نسخ من صور مأخوذة من كتب الفن الإسلامي. ثم وضع تصميماً كان بمثابة الرسم التخطيطي تحوّل لاحقاً إلى مخطط الكتروني على برنامج أوتو كاد. اختار الفنان بعد ذلك نوع الخشب الذي يناسب تصميمه وهو خشب الساج.

النتيجة النهائية

بدأ بحفر القطعة الأخيرة من تصميمه وهي عبارة عن مزهرية خشبية استغرق إنهاؤها أكثر من سنة ونصف، وزاد طولها عن المتر. المزهرية معروضة حالياً في بيته، علماً بأنه قام في هذه الأثناء بتعليم العديد من الورش في فن حفر الخشب، وحصل على تغطية إعلامية جيدة شملت إضاءات في تلفزيون قطر والعديد من الصحف. يعمل سلام حالياً على إنتاج المزيد من التصاميم والقطع المعاصرة مثل عصي البولينغ والبلياردو والكؤوس.